Pitch Sequencer

The Art of Expression

Step Sequencers are an attractive concept. Machines making music. Who could better awake the genie in the machine than Thesys, the drawing board for step-based music creation? A refined Randomizer is ready, whatever the current situation, to mutate existing material or to bring a new approach on the table.

Key Features

  • Powerful 32-step MIDI Sequencer
  • Pitch Recorder
  • Choose and trigger Patterns per MIDI
  • Patternsequencer for longer passages
  • Real-time Manipulation of the patterns per keyboard
  • Internal Synth
  • Vast Randomizer
  • Independent Loop lengths for all 5 sequencers
  • 18 sequencer lanes
  • MIDI Out and Drag 'n' Drop

Generate Pitch

A huge inspiration for performance or production

The sequences can simply be painted, but with the random generator and the mutate-function you can easily generate patterns on the fly. Or record the pitch straight from your MIDI keyboard. The internal synthesizer saves you lengthy wiring sessions so you can start straightaway.

Start by setting the root note. When using the scales, no out-of-key note will slip through your fingers.

Below the pitch lane, you'll see the Velocity (volume) and Gate Sequencer (controlling each note's length). It's in these top three sections that you'll spend the most of your time, programming riffs and arpeggios, then assigning them to patterns.

Watch Tutorial (02:15)

Performance and Modulation

Detailed Per-Step Control

The fourth step window is home to the Performance Sequencer, which is in fact 5 sequencers in one. Each row offers per-step control over Octave, Pitch Bend (with 20 pre-configured shapes), Chord (for polyphonic sequencing), Note Roll and sequence randomization of a vast range of other cleverly implemented "humanizing" elements to your patterns.

The final lane is the CC modulation section: each step accepts a value of 0 to 127, pumped out to a MIDI CC of your choosing. You can actually run several Modulation sequences simultaneously - up to eight - with all of them controlling different CCs.

Watch Tutorial (03:09)

Some Action in real-time

Some useful performance features

Up to 16 full patterns can be created within a single project. They can can be sequenced within the Pattern Sequencer (bottom right) or triggered via the Keyboard (set to "Pitch"), where the full length of the keyboard is used to transpose the current pattern. Switch to "Performance" and the keyboard is split into 3 zones: Pattern Select, Action Section and a Range for pitch transposing.

The “Action Section” offers 8 effects that can influence the patterns in real time. Choose from Looping, Half-Time, Re-Trigger or a Tempo Break.

Sequencing Magic

The Setting "Individual" opens up all sorts of creative possibilities

The lanes within a single pattern can be set to operate over different lengths. You could have pitches cycling over 16 steps, while velocity cycles over 15 steps and a modulation lane is used to sweep a synth filter over 29 steps.

The end results can yield some fascinating interactions between these different step-cycle lengths and an almost endless evolution of the pattern. If you thought step sequencers were only capable of creating repetitive fixed patterns, think again!

There's more...

Internal synth for idea sketching on the fly & MIDI Export

Yes, Thesys also comes with its own synthesizer, it is perfectly capable and very useful if you just want to develop a few quick ideas.

In its VST2 and AAX versions, Thesys is fully MIDI-out capable. As as Audio Unit, it can be plugged as a MIDI FX to trigger other AUs. In the 1.5.1 Update, we implemented MIDI Export. Just drag and drop from within Thesys to your host or simply save the file to your desktop. Quick and easy!

No other MIDI sequencer offers you the ease and power of Thesys. It is 100% MIDI compliant - the ultimate MIDI sequencing solution. Use Thesys on your iPad to control multiple apps or external hard- and software! Send melodies, controller data and program changes. Save patterns to a MIDI file.

Watch Tutorial (02:48)

Videos

Getting a grip on your MIDI setup

Basics (03:23)
Thesys in your DAW (02:04)
Varying Patterns (03:09)
Driving VSTs (02:48)

Thesys Downloads

Version 1.6.5 (What's new)

macOS

Requires macOS 10.6.7 or higher
Audio Unit, VST2, AAX, Standalone


Windows

Requires Windows 7 or higher
VST2, AAX, Standalone


Manual

English

All Sugar Bytes plug-ins are available in 32-bit and 64-bit editions for both Windows and macOS.

Reviews

”Thesys blows away bog-standard arpeggiators and the like, and when it comes to live work, it really shines. Thesys has a lot going for it. Put the work in, and it'll make live sets a joy, adding genuine life and sparkle to your MIDI parts.”

computer music

”Mit Thesys lassen sich im Nu interessante Sequenzen erzeugen, die sich kontinuierlich weiterentwickeln und in linearen Sequenzern und DAWs deutlich mehr Zeit und Arbeit brauchen und weniger Spaß machen. Lohnt sich!”

De Bug

”Personally, I'm hooked. Thesys has reawakened my somewhat dormant interest in step-based sequencing. Given the features offered and the results available, I think it's fairly priced. Comes highly recommended!”

Sound on Sound

”Thesys hatte die gesamte Meute im MIDI-Setup fest im Griff: Ein insgesamt sehr intuitiver Zugang zu umfangreichen und leistungsstarken Funktionen, mit denen die internen Sequenzer einschlägiger DAWs nicht mithalten können.”

Mac Life

© 2017 Sugar Bytes | About Us English | Deutsch

Pitch Sequencer

Die Kunst des Gestaltens

Step Sequenzer haben ihren Reiz. Maschinen, die Musik machen. Und wie könnte man den Geist in der Maschine besser wecken als mit Thesys, dem Zeichenbrett für schrittbasierte Musik? Ein raffinierter Randomizer steht in jeder Situation bereit, um das Vorhandene zu mutieren oder ganz neue Ansätze zu schaffen.

Key Features

  • Mächtiger 32-Step MIDI Sequenzer
  • Pitch Recorder
  • Patterns per MIDI wählen und triggern
  • Patternsequencer für lange Abfolgen
  • Echtzeitmanipulation der Patterns per Keyboard
  • Interner Synthesizer
  • Umfangreicher Randomizer
  • Unabhängige Looplängen der 5 Sequenzer
  • Insgesamt 18 Sequencer Lanes
  • MIDI Out und Drag 'n' Drop

Pitch Generator

Inspiration für Studio und Performance

Die Sequenzen können gezeichnet werden, aber auch per Zufallsgenerator oder Mutatefunktion entstehen Patterns schnell und einfach. Oder nimm den Pitch direkt per MIDI auf. Der interne Synthesizer macht ein Vorverkabeln nicht unbedingt nötig und du kannst sofort loslegen.

Beginne mit einem Grundton. Mithilfe der Skalen rutscht dir kein Fehlton durch die Finger.

Unter der Pitchspur liegen Velocity (Lautstärke) und der Gate Sequenzer (kontrolliert die Länge der Noten). In diesen drei Bereichen spielt die Musik und hier wirst du den größten Anteil der Zeit verbringen, um Riffs und Arpeggios zu programmieren und den einzelnen Patterns zuzuordnen.

Tutorial ansehen (02:15)

Performance und Modulation

Detaillierte Kontrolle pro Step

Der 4. Bereich beherbergt den Performance Sequenzer, der sich in 5 einzelne Spuren unterteilt. Jede der 5 Zeilen bietet schrittgenaue Kontrolle über die Oktave, den Pitchbend (mit 20 Kurven), Akkord (für polyphone Sequenzen), Note Roll und Randomisierung, um die Anmutung der Patterns zu „humanisieren“.

Die unterste Spur ist für die CC Modulation reserviert. Jeder Schritt kann mit Werten zwischen 0 und 127 belegt werden, die einen MIDI CC deiner Wahl bespielen. Bis zu acht Modulationssequenzen können hier simultan laufen und jede kann ein anderes CC ansteuern.

Tutorial ansehen (03:09)

Real-Time Action

Die nützlichen Performance Features

Ein einzelnes Projekt kann bis zu 16 belegte Patterns beinhalten. Diese können im Pattern Sequenzer arrangiert werden (unten rechts) oder einzeln über das Keyboard aufgerufen werden (Modus: „Pitch“), wo das Pattern über die gesamte Klaviatur transponiert werden kann. Im „Performance“ Modus wird das Keyboard in drei Zonen unterteilt: Pattern Select, Action Section und ein Bereich für's Transponieren.

Die Action Section bietet 8 Effekte, mit denen Patterns in Echtzeit beeinflusst werden können. Sei es Loopen, Halftime, Retriggern oder die Tempo-Bremse.

Sequenzer Magic

Kreativ mit dem Setting „Individual“

Die Spuren innerhalb eines Patterns können mit unterschiedlichen Längen operieren: der Pitch könnte 16 Schritte laufen, Velocity über 15 Schritte und die Modulation kann einen Filtersweep über 19 Schritte legen.

Das Ergebnis ist eine faszinierende Interaktion zwischen den verschiedenen Zyklen und einer endlosen Variation bzw. Evolution des Themas. Wenn du beim Stichwort Step Sequenzer an ewig gleiche Wiederholungen gedacht hast – Think again!

Und vieles mehr...

Interner Sequenzer für Skizzen in autarker Umgebung und MIDI Export

Ja, Thesys kommt mit seinem eigenen Synth, kompetent und nützlich beim schnellen Umsetzen von Ideen.

Die VST2 und AAX Version ist voll MIDI-out fähig. Als Audio Unit kann Thesys als MIDI FX geladen werden und andere AUs triggern. Der Export von MIDI-Files per Drag`n`Drop ist ebenso möglich. Quick und Easy!

Einfachste Handhabung, das schnelle Erfassen der Funktionen und die intuitive Bedienung von Thesys bieten die einzigartige und ultimative MIDI Sequencer Lösung. Nutze Thesys auf dem iPad, um andere Apps oder externe Hard- und Software zu triggern! Sende Melodien, Akkorde, Controller und Program Changes. Exportiere bis zu 64 Takte als MIDI Datei.

Tutorial ansehen (02:48)

Videos

Die MIDI Meute fest im Griff

Basics (03:23)
Thesys in your DAW (02:04)
Varying Patterns (03:09)
Driving VSTs (02:48)

Thesys Downloads

Version 1.6.5 (Was ist neu)

macOS

Benötigt macOS 10.6.7 oder höher.
Min. Monitorhöhe: 800 Pixel
Audio Unit, VST2, AAX, Standalone


Windows

Benötigt Windows 7 oder höher.
Min. Monitorhöhe: 800 Pixel (ohne Zoom)
VST2, AAX, Standalone


Handbuch

Englisch


Sugar Bytes Plugins sind als 32- und 64-bit Versionen für Windows und macOS verfügbar.

Reviews

”Thesys blows away bog-standard arpeggiators and the like, and when it comes to live work, it really shines. Thesys has a lot going for it. Put the work in, and it'll make live sets a joy, adding genuine life and sparkle to your MIDI parts.”

computer music

”Mit Thesys lassen sich im Nu interessante Sequenzen erzeugen, die sich kontinuierlich weiterentwickeln und in linearen Sequenzern und DAWs deutlich mehr Zeit und Arbeit brauchen und weniger Spaß machen. Lohnt sich!”

De Bug

”Personally, I'm hooked. Thesys has reawakened my somewhat dormant interest in step-based sequencing. Given the features offered and the results available, I think it's fairly priced. Comes highly recommended!”

Sound on Sound

”Thesys hatte die gesamte Meute im MIDI-Setup fest im Griff: Ein insgesamt sehr intuitiver Zugang zu umfangreichen und leistungsstarken Funktionen, mit denen die internen Sequenzer einschlägiger DAWs nicht mithalten können.”

Mac Life

©2018 Sugar Bytes | Über Uns English | Deutsch