Matthew Herbert

"Your tools are just outstanding. Lots of creative possibilities."

32 year-old Matthew Herbert is an established musician and producer working in the field of electronic music.
Known for stretching boundaries and breaking the conventions traditionally associated with the genre, he is one of
the few independently minded artists to have made a considerable impact on both media and public whilst striving
to be innovative and experimental. As a recording artist since 1996 he has released music on a variety of record
labels under aliases such as Herbert, Doctor Rockit, Wishmountain and Radio Boy and has performed live in the
United States, Japan, Australia, Asia and extensively across Europe. Over the last year he has supported Bj rk at
the Hollywood Bowl, played the Montreux Jazz Festival, the North Sea Jazz Festival in Cape Town, the Pompidou
Centre in Paris and The Big Chill in England, as well as headlining at Barcelona s Sonar 2003 Festival and
London s Queen Elizabeth Hall.
Matthew began making music out of objects at Exeter University in the 1990s, where he studied Drama. From
bottles, jars and pepperpots he progressed to recording friends, places and experiences ?effectively using the
sampler as an audio diary on many of the Doctor Rockit and Herbert releases. In 2001, the Radio Boy album The
Mechanics Of Destruction turned from the personal to the political, sampling explicitly sourced objects (McDonald s
food, Gap clothing, Henry Kissinger) as a protest against the excesses of corporate culture. The album was
distributed free at gigs and is still available as a free download.
His most recent project, The Matthew Herbert Big Band, combines the political commentary of the Radio Boy
releases with the classic songwriting of the Herbert albums. Recorded in Abbey Road studios with sixteen
musicians from the British jazz world, including Dave O Higgins on saxophone and Dave Green on bass, it adheres
as all his work does with the strict working ethic established in his PCCOM manifesto, the Personal Contract
For The Composition Of Music; among other rules, it prohibits the sampling of other people s music. On stage, the
band grows to around twenty musicians, with conductor and arranger Pete Wraight complemented by vocalists
Arto Lindsay, Jamie Liddell and longtime collaborator Dani Siciliano.
Along with nine albums of self-written, produced and performed music, he has contributed production work to
Bj rk s Vespertine album and remixed artists as varied as Moloko, R.E.M., Perry Farrell (Jane s Addiction), Serge
Gainsbourg, Zero 7, Yoko Ono, John Cale, The Avalanches and Cornelius.
In recent years he has written music for a variety of short and feature-length films, including Justin Kerrigan s
Human Traffic, Don Cameron s Paradisiac, Blanca Li s feature musical, Le Defi, and Kristian Levring s The
Intended, and is currently working on tienne Chatillez s next film. Along with music for theatre productions, he has
written and recorded original music for TV, and has also been in demand for fashion shows by designers such as
Laurent Mercier at Balmain, Erik Halley and Gaspard Yurkievich.
As a unique voice in contemporary music, he recently appeared on Channel 4 s Pioneers TV series, presenting a
programme dedicated to Steve Reich, and has been featured in magazines such as Rolling Stone, The Face, The
Wire, Switch and Vogue, as well as newspapers around the world, from The New York Times, to Le Monde, The
Daily Telegraph and El Pais.

Barb Morrison
Bashiri Johnson
Blank and Jones
Boys Noize
Jack D. Elliot
Jackson and his computer band
Jason Nevins
Jean Michel Jarre
Jeremy Ruzumna
John Powell
Jordan Rudess
Kid 606
Le Castle Vania
Marek Pompetzki
Matthew Herbert
Mike Huckaby
Mouse on Mars
New Judas Records
Patric Catani
Phats and Small
Richard Devine
Sigur Rós
Teddy Riley
Vernon Reid
WTF (Tommy Lee / DJ Aero)